OUTMODED FOUNDATION THINKING?

Todaycalculator I received a letter signed by Retired USMC Sergeant Major Joseph VanFonda, asking if I had received the Patriotic Calculator and Planner his foundation sent to me. Mr. VanFonda is the Chief Executive Officer for the Disabled Veterans National Foundation. When I opened the bulky package expensively sent to me by DVNF, in which the foundation invited me to support them financially, I was appalled by the awful waste of money. This is the second or third time I have received archaic enticements fit only for a museum.

Is nobody in this foundation aware that people have not used calculators or paper calendars for the past twenty years or more? These people are a generation out of date. Perhaps such outmoded thinking pervades their entire operation.

If I believe in the worthiness of a foundation and feel I should subscribe to it, I do not care to see that foundation wasting the money contributed to it by distributing antiquated trinkets that cost a substantial sum on a national basis.

About Michael E. Sedgwick

I live in a beautiful retirement community and enjoy writing short stories, novels, memoirs and essays. I've been married to a wonderful woman for 54 years and enjoy traveling the world with her.
This entry was posted in Veterans' Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OUTMODED FOUNDATION THINKING?

  1. Linda Albrecht-Blom says:

    Michael, Michael, use your power of the Pen wisely. Ability to seduce a society with it is indeed a power The gift you have is needed to not only inform others, but write in such a way respect to all concerned is enticed, encouraged to heal a divided nation. We all must look beyond personal frustration, share our wisdom appropriately. Thank you for sharing your talent.

Leave a Reply

