Comprehension of English

In recent years, I have had reason to contact several large companies whom one might label as technology organizations. They appear to be run by teenagers of employees in their early twenties with a poor comprehension of the English language in written form.  One can spend hours sending multiple messages to get a simple request across. Last week and today, I had the miserable experience of contacting a large, international, on-line retailer of books. I was seeking to cancel an account I opened in 2009 to publish my eBooks. I gave the recipients of my emails all the information associated with my account and referenced the webpage on which they advertise my books. The responses I received either directed me to other departments in the same organization, or gave me information I never requested. At this time, my account with this unhelpful organization remains open and my books continue to be advertised for sale.

I am not surprised that business is moving out of the U.S. to other countries. Like all my contact with technology companies, my most recent experience confirms the belief that either the recipients of my emails are used to receiving abbreviated text messages rather than straight English, or they don’t understand the language at all.

About Michael E. Sedgwick

I live in a beautiful retirement community and enjoy writing short stories, novels, memoirs and essays. I've been married to a wonderful woman for 54 years and enjoy traveling the world with her.
This entry was posted in education, English Language, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

